Department of Psychology

University of Mississippi


Dr. John Young 2019 Elsie M. Hood Teacher of the Year

Glowing Reviews Land Elsie Hood Award for Student Favorite

Dr. Carrie Smith and UM Students publish new paper in The Journal of Social Psychology.

Basic need satisfaction in the parental relationship offsets millennials’ worries about the transition to college ABSTRACT Students’ worries about transitioning to college are correlated with long-term reduced psychological well-being, so we investigated how psychological need satisfaction might mitigate millennials’ worries about college. As parents can support or undermine their children’s basic needs, we also examined […]

Psychology Undergraduate Arianne Hartono wins NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship

SEC Coverage Ole Miss senior Arianne Hartono wins NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship Chris Hudgison Posted: 05/28/2018 3:18 PM WINSTON SALEM, NC (Mississippi News Now) – A Rebel is atop NCAA women’s tennis. Ole Miss senior Arianne Hartono beat Pepperdine’s Ashley Lahey 6-4, 6-2 on Monday afternoon to win the national title. Hartono is the first player […]

Liberal Arts Dean Named Fellow in Society of Behavioral Medicine

Psychology professor Lee Cohen joins prestigious group of scholars May 31, 2018 by Edwin B. Smith Dean Lee M. Cohen OXFORD, Miss. – Lee M. Cohen, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and professor of psychology at the University of Mississippi, has been named a fellow in the Society of Behavioral Medicine. Fellow status […]

Graduate Student Stephen White Receives 1st Place in 3 Minute Thesis Competition (Ph.D.)

3MT® Competition Winners!! Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition November 7, 2017 We are very pleased to announce the winners of the Three Minute Thesis Competition at UM. Congratulations to all of you for your fine work!  We are very happy to have you as the winners of the 3MT. Grand Prize Winner: Samyak Shertok; Creative Writing […]

Graduate Student Tonya M Vanderbrink Receives APA Division 7 Dissertation Research Grant in Developmental Psychology

Dr. Todd Smitherman Receives Prestigious UM COLA Research Award

UM liberal arts Dean Lee Cohen (left) and Associate Dean Charles Hussey (right) congratulate 2018 Research, Scholarship and Creative Achievement Award for senior faculty recipients. The winners are (from left) John Green, Todd Smitherman, Rhona Justice-Malloy and Nathan Hammer. Photo by Kevin Bain/Ole Miss Communications OXFORD, Miss. – Eight faculty members in the University of […]

Psychology Undergraduate Don Zielenski Honored in Purple Heart Ceremony

OXFORD, Miss. – Most University of Mississippi students are restricted from parking in certain areas of campus, but that is about to change for Don Zielenski and other Purple Heart recipients at Ole Miss. The sophomore from south Texas is the first to receive the new Purple Heart Parking Pass, which allows owners to park […]

Psychology Chair, Rebekah Smith, attends International Workshop in Denmark

Rebekah Smith, chair and professor of psychology, was one of eight speakers at an international workshop, Mechanisms of Intentions, at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark. Prospective memory, also called delayed intentions, is the main focus of Smith’s research. Examples include remembering to take medicine, turn off the stove, or make a phone call. “When we […]

Award-Winning Graduate Student Anna Katherine Black (AK) 3 Minute Thesis Competition

Each year College departments present Graduate Student Achievement Awards at Honors Day. These six represent scholars across the discipline areas housed in the College. ANNA KATHERINE BLACK PhD clinical psychology ’18 Doctoral winner of UM’s Three Minute Thesis Competition challenging graduate students to explain their research in three minutes and using only one slide, Anna […]