skip to main content
Department of Psychology
University of Mississippi

Graduate Student Spotlight: Sarah Wilson

Clinical, 2nd year

Sarah Wilsom

Sarah Wilson

Tell us about yourself?

I am a second-year graduate student in the Clinical Psychology program. I am an Oxford native and completed my undergraduate work at Ole Miss. I worked as a behavior analyst in Reno, NV for four years, but when I made the decision to apply to graduate school, I was excited for the opportunity to come home.

What research have you been working on lately?

In general, I am interested in low cost and accessible interventions that impact educational and behavioral outcomes in academic settings. In developing my thesis, I am focusing on how levels of engagement in mindfulness interventions affects how well the intervention works. With so many young, rural, or inaccessible folks in need, how much of an intervention is needed to improve day to day living?

What is your favorite thing about being a graduate student in the department?

I appreciate that the university and department foster collaboration. The people in my cohort have been a rock for me, and the faculty are supportive of my research and clinical interests.

What is your favorite thing about living in Oxford?

Oxford is home, so it will always have that draw. Being close to my family and friends has made graduate school possible for me. I also love that art, music, and food are so central to the Oxford community and being involved in that culture is really rewarding.

What is your favorite course you have taken so far?

My favorite class would either be Advanced Conditioning and Learning with Dr. Kate Kellum or Evidence Based Practice with Dr. John Young. Both professors have been integral to developing my scientific approach and therapeutic skills. These classes really fostered my love for behavior analytic work while pushing me to learn beyond that.

What do you do when you are not studying?

I do a lot of reading, crafts, or go to local shows and restaurants. I spend as much time as I can outside, with friends and family, or with my cat (who rules the house).

 What is a really interesting or really boring fact about yourself?

I read 196 books in 2022.