skip to main content
Department of Psychology
University of Mississippi

Student Research Spotlight: Lauren Thaxter

Clinical, 3rd Year

Lauren Thaxter

Lauren Thaxter

Tell us about yourself?

I was born and raised in California with one older brother. I lived in New York City for two years after my undergraduate years in Los Angeles, where I received my Master’s in Clinical Psychology. Each summer my family and I try to prioritize an overseas trip, which always end up being the highlight of each year. I grew up with King Charles Cavalier Spaniels and still have one back at home in California, named Leila.

What research have you been working on lately?

I am currently interested in the relationship between social support and pain and psychological variables in individuals with chronic pain disorders. Specifically, I am interested in the role of giving social support within headache-related disability and pain tolerance within individuals who have been diagnosed with migraine.

What is your favorite thing about being a graduate student in the department?

My favorite thing about being a graduate student in the department is the opportunities provided in our clinical placements. I thoroughly enjoy being able to practice and implement specific treatment strategies within the therapy room under supervised expertise to assist me in growing my clinical skills and helping me “figure out” my “style” in the therapy room.

What is your favorite thing about living in Oxford?

Definitely the food. I love all the different choices and the laid-back and cozy ambience of the different restaurants that Oxford has to offer. Lamar Yard, Jinsei, Volta, and City Grocery are just a few of my favorites!

What is your favorite course you have taken so far?

My favorite course that I have taken so far was the Anxiety seminar with Dr. Sarah Bilsky. I was such a big fan of the content because it was so applicable to clinical practice. I learned so much from all of the higher-years in the course because it was basically a second practicum-team for me to be able to hear all of their experiences and advice for interventions and treatment with patients.

What do you do when you are not studying?

You can find me on the Whirlpool trails with my pup, Lexi, a few days each week. I like how quiet the back trails are, and Lexi is able to get all of her zoomies out there. I also love going over to Taylor and grabbing some brunch with friends at Grit or hanging out at Lost Dog. I enjoy my time playing tennis on a USTA team here in Mississippi, and I decompress with some piano after long weeks. Also, I can binge Netflix shows like it’s a sport.

What is a really interesting or really boring fact about yourself?

I can read and write the Korean alphabet fluently, but I am unable to understand most of the words that I am saying when reading aloud. So, about as pointless of a language skill as possible.